Bulla #horsetrials roundup – post your free ads now at www.horseoz.com/forsale

Early start to get to Bulla as the EastLink road tunnel was closed for a fun run. I’d rather do my running on a horse J .

Got to Bulla about 8.20 with enough time to get ready for my 9.16 dressage test without rushing. Occy was working reasonably nicely, but I felt he could have been a touch more forward and supple. His lengthening trots could have been a smidge better and it felt to me his last halt wasn’t quite square. I think my work with Megan Jones during the week paid of a bit as the test was marked with 8s and 7s putting me second after dressage.

That gave me a couple of hours before the mad rush of showjumping followed half an hour later by Cross-country to walk the courses. Di and Bron had made the journey to provide moral and other support to myself and Heather, who was doing her first horse trials in years, plus. her horse had never done a horse trials. The XC course looked the same as last year with some interesting turning lines. And the grass was green and thick underfoot with a couple of boggy patches. Unheard of in Bulla.

Showjumping went well, even though we gave the third jump a good knock, but the rail stayed where it was supposed to. Apparently the round looked nice and forward and was clear.

A change of boots and putting on of back protector and numbers for the XC just outside of the SJ ring, another quick gear check and a real quick warm up for the XC was next. I almost missed the start as I did not hear my number being called. Had a slight stick moment at jump 4 the sharks teeth. But as Occy had a stop at this last year I was prepared and encouraged him from about 6 strides out. We had no problems with the 2 triple combinations and motored on nicely up to the far corner of the course, taking short lines where possible. Time was still looking good coming out of the water and I backed of the pace before we crossed the finish 7 seconds under. The helpers were there to help, which was appreciated.

When the Showjumping scores went up I knew I was in with a good chance as the person coming first had 10 penalties in the showjumping, putting me in first place baring any problems with the cross-country. Which of course was no problem, so we won our first rug for Level 2 Horse Trials  J . Plus I won a set of soft touch spurs courtesy of Southern Stars Saddlery www.southernstarssaddlery.com  in the raffle. That just left me with the long drive back home and the unpacking.

And Occy got carrots.

HorseOz will donate all of the proceeds from all Premium Video and Business Adds
placed with HorseOz ForSale to Queensland Equestrian Flood disaster recovery until the end of April
website http://www.horseoz.com 

Heather and Tom having fun.mp4 Watch on Posterous

Posted via Telstra NextG email for HorseOz Classified Ads

Published by

horseoz

I ride horses and compete in Dressage, Showjumping and Eventing or Horse Trials. I also own and run an Equestrian property to the East of Melbourne, Australia. In my spare time I run a couple of websites including http://www.horseoz.com and http://www.carinyapark.com. To afford all this I work a full time job, so the definition of spare time is usually after dark. Sleep is over rated ;-) In my Blogs I try to tell what I am doing with the horses, give some updates with regards to the equestrian events I am attending and any relevant news about horse health and performance. I also give reviews on any new products I get my hands on related to my horsey activities If yuo want to buy or sell horses or anything equestrian related try http://www.horseoz.com/forsale

Leave a Reply

